OPRA Awards of Excellence Winners

Ohio Parks and Recreation Association has announced its 2018 Annual Awards of Excellence winners. For the first time, no agency won more than one first place award. Fourteen different agencies took top honors, including 6 park districts, 6 municipalities and 2 townships.

Throughout the state, 150 programs and projects were nominated. In all, 26 different agencies have been recognized with 1st, 2nd or 3rd place awards.

“These award winners represent the best of the best in parks and recreation in Ohio,” said OPRA Executive Director Woody Woodward. “These programs and projects are changing the lives of people around the state and building better communities in Ohio. The 1st Place winners include townships, large and small cities and park districts. Our members are offering amazing programs and great facilities in communities of all types around Ohio. That diversity is a strength of our association and helps to ensure that citizens all over the state receive the benefits of parks and recreation.”

The awards are judged by a panel of parks and recreation professionals from around Ohio.

The OPRA Annual Awards of Excellence will be presented at a banquet hosted by the association on February 5, 2019 at the Kalahari Conference Center in Sandusky in conjunction with the 2019 OPRA Annual Conference & Trade Show. One first place award winner will be presented with the 2018 Governor’s Award for Parks and Recreation, a “best-in-show” award which includes a $500 contribution to the parks and recreation foundation of the winner.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This